Put the WBC Towards the Top of Things I Could Give a Shit About.

I’m really excited about the regular season of Major League Baseball just around the corner.  I’m so excited that I’ve even watched spring training games on TV.  This time of year is all about watching how the young phenoms are progressing and how vets who were injured last year are bouncing back.  It is all about optimism at this point.  But what about the World Baseball Classic, Scott?  I’ve watched it and if anything, it takes away from the buzz I have about the game.  Let me explain why.

The baseball regular season is already 162 games.  By the time the playoffs finish up, it is well into October.  What MLB doesn’t need is

When I think of the Netherlands, I dont think of baseball.  I think of other nether regions.

When I think of the Netherlands, I don't think of baseball. I think of other nether regions.

some event that pushes that back even farther.  Yeah, I know that for many Latin American countries, the concept of competing against each other is thrilling.  Great for them.  I live in the fucking freezing Midwest.  Life is one big hockey game, with city trucks behaving like Zamboni machines.  Watching multi-millionaires compete against each other in squads that have barely practiced with each other does nothing for me.  This is just some bullshit attempt by Major League Baseball to extend some more drama to their year and connect with some foreign countries around the world.  Maybe it works for other nations, but as an American, I feel nothing but a big fucking yawn for the competition.  I felt more drama in just one overtime of the Big East tournament game between Syracuse and Connecticut than I’ve felt for the whole WBC, so far.

But Scott, what about the thrilling ride which is the Netherlands’ team?  Yeah, Ubaldo Jimenz was lights out, but what is he doing wearing a jersey supporting a country that I grew up thinking was Holland?  It is strange that a mix of players from a colony and the colonizers would join forces in an athletic competition.  Do you think that Sidney Ponson likes to wear wooden fucking shoes?  I figure the only cultural thing these area’s have in common is pot brownies.  Amsterdam meet Aruba.  If you want to know the truth, I felt more competitive fire in the belly of the participants in the Battle of the Network Stars than the players in the WBC.  This whole WBC is fucking-up my pace into the season, with it pushing back my beloved opening day.  Let’s get back to what makes this time of the year so special.  A leisurely march through March, in some laid back spring training town.

3 thoughts on “Put the WBC Towards the Top of Things I Could Give a Shit About.

  1. “It is strange that a mix of players from a colony and the colonizers would join forces in an athletic competition.”

    Get your facts right. 16 of the 25 players are born in the Netherlands and the DUTCH antilles are still part of the dutch kingdom.

    And…talking about Colonies…isn’t the US one big Colony ?

    “Do you think that Sidney Ponson likes to wear wooden fucking shoes?”

    Yes..he does..and he eats cheese all the time. Has tulips in his garden..lives in a windmill and in his spare time he puts his finger in the dyke…

    What about Jeter ? Lives in a WigWam, Married his Squaw..and scalps his enemies once and a while ?

  2. Thanks for clearing that up. I wondered about the checkered career of Sidney, so this whole finger in the dyke thing makes more sense.

    The Dutch players batted .151 so far. It’s been the pitchers from the Islands that have gotten them this far. I’m glad that they’ve done this well, it just hasn’t been high-quality baseball to watch.

  3. You’re welcome.

    But.it wasn’t only Sir Sidney who pitched great. Nonames like Tom Stuivenberg, Rob Cordemans, VandenHurk and Alexander smits stood on the hill also during those remarkable games. All 100% dutch. And they withstood MLB greats. Something te be proud off…

    I understand the american view on the WBC, but you can’t deny the games agains the DR (twice) and the 1-3 lost game against PR were good material to watch..

    Let us be proud on ‘our’ players. It doesn’t happen that many time that we have something to cheer about in baseball.

    Martin

Leave a Reply

